Long time no post

November 14, 2011

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted, but it hasn’t been without reason. This year has been extremely busy with performing at school, gigs, and making reeds.

This year in school, I’ve been playing a lot of “the big parts” for the school university. My scholarship requires me to perform with the school ensembles, and I generally enjoy it, but this year has been a bit of a strain. Most recently, I’m performing a new premiere of Charles Wuorinen’s re-orchestrated “Big Spinoff” for 16 instruments. So far, it’s been one of the hardest pieces I’ve ever played, and I’m still not a fan of it. Screaming high F’s, plummeting low Bbs, and some written low G’s and A’s below that, (how an oboist is supposed to play those notes, I have no idea.)

For the school concerto competition I performed the Bach A major Concerto memorized, and got reasonably far. I passed the oboe round, and the woodwind round, but in the final round I had a bad memory slip, and I’m sure this doomed me. In any case, it was a good run, but pretty discouraging.

I’m currently preparing for my recital, hopefully scheduled late January. So far I have Loeffler, Schumann, and Dutilleaux, and I have to add another piece. I’m certainly open to suggestions, so if you have one leave it below under comments.

Reeds are getting pumped out as quickly as I can scrape them. I have helpers now doing more and more work, but I still can’t get them done fast enough. Meanwhile, I’m making some of the best reeds of my life, and feel like I’ve really settled into “my kind of reed”. Flexible, lighter than what I was playing last year, but still full of depth, cover, and warmth. It’s a good place to be.

Leave a Reply

