A typical weekend

January 10, 2011

Think being a reedmaker is glamorous?

 

I frequently get asked in social situations what my hobbies might be, and I often have to stop and think about it. Think hard. Think very hard.

The truth is I rarely have time to do anything such as a hobby other than something reed related. I watch a lot of sports… while making reeds. I watch news clips… while making reeds. I watch Netflix online… while making reeds. I listen to sermons online… while making reeds. See a pattern here?

This weekend was quite an eventful weekend in football, and a lot of good playoff games on. I watched most of the games that were on, and particularly enjoyed the New Orleans Saints get defeated by the Seattle Seahawks, just because it was such as surprise.

It’s not that I’m such a huge NFL fan, although I do like to watch it, but I had get my monthly orders going  before school starts back up next week. Saturday I pregouged and gouged about 150 pieces of cane. Today, I shaped about 50 and tied 50 blanks. Tomorrow, I’ll shape more cane and tie more blanks. Not the most exciting of weekends.

But tomorrow, I’ll take off the late afternoon TO WATCH THE DUCKS PLAY FOR THE NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP! Being from Eugene, Oregon, and having strong family ties to the University of Oregon (2 sisters, 1 father, and myself having a degree from the UofO) I bleed green and yellow, and am looking forward to seeing the game. In fact, I turned down a gig which had a rehearsal during the game. IMAGINE THAT! A REHEARSAL, DURING THE DUCK GAME?!?!?

So to summarize, QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK !!!!!

One Response to “A typical weekend”

  1. Beth said

    I’ve never been able to watch anything while making reeds – I do a lot of listening and have been thinking of getting some of the books on tape as a way to just…do ANYTHING different while making reeds. haha.

Leave a Reply

